top of page

Meet Gabriel, Our Sixpenny Sofa



The sitting room is officially a sitting room. I love this space because it looks out to the backyard and has the best view of the sunrise that fills the whole room up with gold light in the morning. That pretty much makes it the best room in the house but it wasn't functional for us with our old chairs we had here. Appearance-wise, they served their purpose; but comfy-wise, they were lacking...so no one ever sat in here and we missed a heck of a lot of really good sunrises.




I had a vision to revamp this space with a super comfy sofa and somewhere in my search for the perfect piece, I found Sixpenny! I knew right away their Gabriel Sofa would be a perfect match. I loved the cozy, slouchy look, its clean lines, and the dimensions were great for my somewhat smaller space. There were a ton of different materials to choose from but I was stuck between cotton linen and washed cotton linen so I ordered a few swatches to see them in person. While I absolutely loved the texture in the washed cotton linen, the pacific pearl color in cotton linen had my heart.





With two delivery options available, you can choose to set up a scheduled home delivery or standard FedEx/UPS shipping, both of which are free. With the scheduled home delivery service, I was put in contact with their delivery partner to set up a day and time when the sofa could be delivered. So convenient; especially because we were just coming back from a vacation at the time! For an additional fee, White Glove delivery service will unbox the piece for you in your home and remove packaging.






Material

I have this sofa in cotton linen. The material offers some of the unique texture that I loved in the washed cotton linen, but it feels sturdy overall which is exactly what I needed with a german shepherd who loves cozy places to nap.


Comfort

Let me just say I started this blog post on the sofa and fell asleep. Lol. Comfort: 100%. The cushions are built around foam core and wrapped with a 70% feather down and 30% fiber blend. It has a "sink into" feeling without getting completely lost in the cushions; it holds some pretty good firmness to it. The arms are really slender and the seating is low profile which I find extremely comfortable in sofas.


Size

The Gabriel Sofa is 72" in length. I think this sofa works best for somewhat smaller spaces without being too overwhelming. It's important to choose a sofa size based on the amount of space you have to work with.


Durability

Sixpenny uses kiln-dried hardwood and plywood reinforcement to form an indestructible frame. Frames are reinforced with corner blocking for increased stability. They also use a high-tenacity webbing and spring suspension system.


Maintenance

Other than a quick hand swipe or vacuum to remove daily dog hair, the only other maintenance I do regularly is fluff up the pillows. After sitting for some time on the sofa and leaning against the cushions, they'll get a little snug in place so I'll just prop them up and give them a quick fluff.


Cleaning

The removable slipcovers with a pleat on the corners provide easy cleaning and care. It is safe to wash these and have them dry cleaned.




Thank you Sixpenny for sponsoring this post! All thoughts and opinions are my own.



3,455 views
bottom of page